StoryCorps / Anna Freeman and Brianna Freeman

December 31, 2017

Anna Freeman and Brianna Freeman # https://storycorps.org/listen/anna-freeman-and-brianna-freeman-171229/ What is your obsession with unicorns? obsession (noun. C/U) - something or someone that you think about all the time They’re cute. And they have horns, so they could attack their bullies. horn (noun.) - a hard, pointed, often curved part that grows from the top of the head of some animals, or the hard substance of ...

StoryCorps / Thompson Williams and Kiamichi-tet Williams

December 30, 2017

Thompson Williams and Kiamichi-tet Williams # https://storycorps.org/listen/thompson-williams-and-kiamichi-tet-williams-171222/ That year we used all our money just before Christmas so that we could pay the bills and buy groceries — at least we’d have something to eat. groceries (noun. C) - the food that you buy in a grocer’s shop orsupermarket And I had convinced myself that this was the best thing to do because my kids needed Christmas. ...

StoryCorps / William Lynn Weaver

December 28, 2017

William Lynn Weaver # https://storycorps.org/listen/william-lynn-weaver-171215/ It’s a small neighborhood so we find out where the kid lives who has the bike and it’s a shack in an alley. Now, my brother and I, we’re going to beat this boy but my father was there and he said, ’Just shut up and let me tal ...

StoryCorps / Jennifer Hensel and Jeremy Richman

December 27, 2017

Jennifer Hensel and Jeremy Richman # https://storycorps.org/listen/jennifer-hensel-and-jeremy-richman-171213/ The weight of her arms on my body when she’s hugging me. And her cheeks. cheek (noun. C) - the soft part of your face that is below your eye and between your mouth and ear How many little kids grow up visiting a gravestone? gravestone (noun. C) - a stone that shows where a dead personis buried, usually ...

StoryCorps / Carla Saunders and Kyle Cook

December 4, 2017

Carla Saunders and Kyle Cook # https://storycorps.org/listen/carla-saunders-and-kyle-cook-170915/ Summer 2010, we had six babies in the nursery who were in withdrawal. nursery (noun. C) - a room in a house where small children sleep andplay withdrawal (noun. U) - process of ceasing to take an addictive drug, often accompanied by unpleasant reactions It was so hard to watch these babies—they would ...

StoryCorps / Russell Lehmann and David Apkarian

December 3, 2017

Russell Lehmann and David Apkarian # https://storycorps.org/listen/russell-lehmann-and-david-apkarian-170922/ I remember sitting in the same exact spot for seven hours crying, and, uh, not one person approached me. exact (adj.) - in great detail, or complete, correct, or true in every way spot (noun. C) - a particular place approach (verb.) - to come near or nearer to something or someone in space, time,quality, or amount And that’ ...

StoryCorps / Christopher Harris

December 1, 2017

Christopher Harris # https://storycorps.org/listen/christopher-harris-171201/ So we settled into the rigors of treatment. rigour (noun.) - the fact that people are made to follow rules in a very severeway And I called that number, and there was some guys who had just begun trying to distribute these medications that they were getting on the black market. distribute (verb.) - to give something out to several people, or to spread orsupply something ...

StoryCorps / William Lynn Weaver

November 30, 2017

William Lynn Weaver # https://storycorps.org/listen/william-lynn-weaver-170929/ The school’s mascot was a Confederate colonel and at football games, when you came out on the field, the crowd would be hollering and the Dixie would be playing and they’d hold the paper flag up and the team would burst out through the Confederate flag. The black players made a decision to ...

StoryCorps / Johnny Holmes and Christian Picciolini

November 29, 2017

Johnny Holmes and Christian Picciolini # https://storycorps.org/listen/johnny-holmes-and-christian-picciolini-171006/ You were rough. rough (adj.) - dangerous or violent The one that I remember, I kind of ushered you into the dean’s office. And I remember she put her arms around you to try to calm you down. And excuse the language but you were like, ‘You black bitch, get your filthy hands off of ...

StoryCorps / Jessi Silva and Maggie Marquez

November 29, 2017

Jessi Silva and Maggie Marquez # https://storycorps.org/listen/jessi-silva-and-maggie-marquez-171020/ All the teachers, they had a little cigar box, and put the kids’ little papers in there. And we all marched out to where the flagpole was. cigar (noun. C) - a tube made from dried and rolled tobacco leavesthat people smoke march (verb.) - to forcefully make someone gosomewhere by taking hold of that person andpulling them there ...

© 2019-2021 Su Jing Jhong 版權所有 創用 CC 授權條款